New South Wales Branch Council


Karen Patterson FCHSM


Christopher Horn FCHSM

Immediate Past President

Paul Preobrajensky FCHSM

Branch Councillors

Dr Sergio Diez Alvarez FCHSM
Eva Ballai FCHSM

Dominic Dawson FCHSM
Assoc Prof Godfrey Isouard FCHSM
Andrew Newton FCHSM
Connie Porter AFCHSM
Charlotte Davies MCHSM (Health Management Internship Program (HMIP) member)
Edward Valenta MCHSM (Health Management Internship Program (HMIP) member)


Get in touch

To contact our NSW Branch office, click here.

Karen Patterson 



A member since 2010, Karen undertook the ACHSM Fellowship Exam in 2015. Through mentoring within the ACHSM Mentor Program, Karen has supported the HMIP Program, providing interns with local sponsorship and supervision for over 10 years. 

Karen’s experience includes management posts within the fields of Policy, Education, Leadership, Practice Development, Governance, Strategy and Performance. Karen has Advisory Board experience within government and the corporate sector.

Karen founded Patterson Consultancy PTY LTD in 2015 providing health sector advisory services including policy/strategy/program reviews, strategic planning and HR development.  Karen is currently employed as the Director of Capability and Culture with the NSW Clinical Excellence Commission.

​Christopher Horn



Christopher Horn was elected to NSW Branch Council in 2018.

Christopher leads the delivery of the NSW Bowel Cancer Screening Program at the Cancer Institute NSW. He is an Australian trained and internationally experienced clinician and manager, and after completing a Masters of Health Management at UNSW in 2011 Christopher has gone on to become a Fellow of the College.

Christopher has previously held redesign roles in Victoria and NSW and he has experience in public health, paediatric and general radiation therapy, molecular imaging, and medical device development. His interests include the development of leadership capability and health system design, and he is also an Ambassador for White Ribbon Australia.

​Paul Preobrajensky


Immediate Past President

Paul Preobrajensky was elected to the NSW Branch Council in 2008 and appointed to the National Board in 2019.

Paul is a Health Industry Management Consultant, with experience in healthcare spanning 24 years and includes clinical and corporate management and governance roles. His recent roles have focused on strategic delivery, systems redesign and access improvement. His interests lie in the areas of health management, change management and governance. 

Eva Ballai



Eva was elected to the NSW Branch Council in 2019.  Eva has over 25 years’ extensive experience in the health care industry; 13 years in acute care settings, 14 years in Aged Care Senior / Executive Management (CEO, Director of Nursing, Facility Manager and Operations Manager) and 4 years as a Board Director in the Disability sector.

Eva is also a current serving member of the Australian Defence Force: Captain Specialist Nursing Officer.

Dominic Dawson

BPhysio, MHSE, MBA, Dip Government, Dip PM, GradCert, HRM, FCHSM, CHE


Dominic has extensive experience in the health sector as a clinician, educator and a health leader. Over the last 11 years he has held various senior management positions and has been instrumental in leading health reform implementation and clinical services improvement.

Elected to the NSW Branch Council in 2008, Dominic is a Fellow of the College and has previously held the position of NSW Branch President.

Dominic is currently the Associate Director, Business Intelligence and Efficiency at South Eastern Sydney Local Health District, leading a highly skilled team in the development and dissemination of intelligent information for organisational transformation. He also provides leadership in the implementation of Activity Based Funding at the Local Health District. 

Assoc Prof Godfrey Isouard



Appointed to the Board in 2009, Godfrey Isouard is Associate Professor of health Management at the University of New England. He has a medical science and public health background, and before moving to academia held senior clinical and health service executive positions. He is currently chair of the National ACHSM Education Committee, Foundation Member of the Editorial Advisory Board for the Asia Pacific Journal of Health Management, and Past President of ACHSM NSW Branch and the Society for Health Administration Programs in Education. His research interests focus on leadership, evaluation and review of organisational performance, the health management workforce, and quality and safety improvement.

Andrew Newton



Andrew was elected to the NSW Branch Council in 2019. A registered nurse who practiced predominantly in operating theatres, Andrew has worked extensively in the NSW Health System in both rural and metropolitan services, holding a range of leadership positions.

Andrew is currently the CEO of The Northern Beaches Hospital.

Connie Porter



Connie Porter was elected to NSW Branch Council in 2017 and is the Chief Executive Officer, Ramsay Health Care – Port Macquarie.

Connie has experience in managing people, assets and services. Connie has held various leadership positions in both the private and public health sectors. With formal qualifications in nursing, midwifery, health service management and currently completing further studies in human resource management and industrial relations.

Connie has a keen interest in change management, business development, governance (both clinical and corporate), human resource management and leadership.