Awards and Prizes

Gold Medal

This award recognises exceptional leadership and recent achievements and promotes the pursuance of excellence in the delivery of health services in Australia. A nominee will be a member of the College and an outstanding leader who has made recent and exceptional contributions to the health care system. This leader will have a passion for excellence and demonstrate a tireless commitment to improving the system for the benefit of patients and those who work within it. He/she values innovation and is committed to developing partnerships and collaborative relationships. These leaders are notable as role models for our next generation of leaders and embody the core health system values.

Congratulations to Anna Burgess FCHSM (Vic), winner of the 2018 Gold Medal Award

Life Membership

Life membership to the College is an Award and honour that is bestowed by the Board after a Branch Council nomination. Any Branch may nominate one member each year to be considered for the award of Life Member. The final decision is made by the Board of Directors and presentation is made to that member at the ACHSM Annual General Meeting. Retiree members are eligible for this award. 

Congratulations to the Life Membership recipients for 2018

Christine Dennis – NSW (pictured above with ACHSM President Dr Neale Fong)

Anne-Marie Stranger – TAS

Honorary Fellowship

Nominees' qualities include demonstration of the following:

Currently holding a key role in the health system and making a notable contribution to health services. This award provides recognition of this contribution. A nominee will have an outstanding reputation in the health system and will be supportive of the College and its objectives.

This year the following Honorary Fellowship’s have been bestowed upon;

Michael Pervan - Secretary Department of Health and Human Services


This is the highest level of membership within the College, and demonstrates an ongoing commitment to excellence in health service management. Fellowship is gained by meeting the requirements set by the Board. The College would like to welcome the following members as new fellows of the College for 2018.


ACT/NSW: Tania Dufty (ACT), with Paul Dyer – President ACT Branch

NT: Allison Grierson, Liza Houghton, Dianne Stephens with Len Notaras (President NT Branch)

NSW: Wayne Adams and Chris Hastie

Qld: Mark Avery (President Qld Branch) Richard Olley (Assistant Chief Examiner Readings) Aidan Hobbs, Kirsten Dyer, Simon Bugden, Ugenthiri Naiker, Allison Lovell and Tracey Silvester

Vic: Allison Evans, Sue Tomlinson, Ariana Carrodus, Pieter Walker and Adam Stormont

WA: Jeffrey Moffet, (Alternative Pathway) Kevin Billinghurst (RACMA) Kerry Winsor, Kathy Pedler, David Bowdidge, Judith Daire, David Gaskell, Regina Michel-Huessy, Tony Mylius, Dr Neale Fong (President) Karen Gullick, Fleur Gilroy, Suzanne Taylor, Dr Samir Heble

New Fellows from the Hong Kong College of Health Service Executives (HKCHSE)

New Fellows from NZ, Natalie King, Catherine Epps, Kathy Devonport, with Jayanthi Mohanakrishnan, President NZIHM, Wendy McEwan – Past President and Sue Shipplee, Silver Fern Award winner

Gold Medal Awards

Life Members

Honorary Fellows

Need more?

For more information on awards and prizes, please email Alison McCann, National Programs Support Manager, or call (02) 8753 5111.

Alternative pathway

Mala Ngaroma Grant – NZ

Prof Mark Mackay – SA

Jeffrey Moffet – WA

Wendy Quinn – Tas

Catherine Stoddart – NT

Also awarded but did not attend:

Di Mantell SA
Jan Adams NZ
Dr Umesh Gupta PNG
Sonj Hall Qld
Vickie Kaminski SA
Lydia Dennett SA
Michele Smith SA
Robert Dempsey SA
Prof Belinda Moyes Vic
Alan Lilly Vic
John Fogarty WA
Dr David Russell-Weisz WA

RACMA Fellows

Dr Kevin Billinghurst – WA

Dr Darrell Duncan – NSW

Dr David Evans – Qld

Also awarded but did not attend:

Dr Sergey Bibikov NSW
Dr Pankaj Banga NSW
Dr Maryann Ferreux NSW
Dr Anil Nair NZ
Dr Anand Choudhary Qld
Dr Christian Rowan Qld
Dr Julieanne Graham Qld
Dr Alan Sandford Vic
Dr Sidney Chandrasiri Vic
Dr John  Elcock Vic

Student Prizes

The Ian Brand Prize - for the best grade point average in a Masters Course in Health Management conducted throughout Australia. This year's winner was:

Jillian Kate Taylor – Griffith University

The Anthony Suleau Prize - for the best grade point average in a Postgraduate diploma course in Health Management conducted throughout Australia. This year's winner is Terri Sharee McIntosh – Queensland University of Technology.

The Grace Suleau Prize - for the best grade point average in an Undergraduate diploma course in health management conducted throughout Australia. This year's winner is Taylor Jade Pearce – Western Sydney University

Congratulations to all our worthy winners! 

Need more?

For more information on awards and prizes, please email Alison McCann, National Programs Support Manager, or call (02) 8753 5111.