Applications for the 2018 Fellowship Program are now open.

Application deadline is extended to Monday 29 January 2018, 5pm AEDT.

Fellowship is the highest membership category awarded in the College. It is a significant professional achievement and is awarded by the College to those individuals who have demonstrated to their peers that they have the knowledge, attitudes, conceptual and communication skills to be recognised as senior managers and leaders in the health and aged care industries. Fellowship within the ACHSM is recognised both nationally and internationally and it demonstrates an ongoing commitment to excellence in health service management.

Fellows provide leadership across the spectrum of public, private and not for profit organisations, in the areas of acute, primary and long term care, and health improvement. Fellows are engaged in the areas of tertiary education and research, policy development and government service, professional services and project management. The awarding of Fellowship to a College member recognises the commitment to research, continuing professional development and learning, and application of knowledge in health services management they demonstrate.

Fellowship candidature and examination

The process of candidature has a number of benefits. It

  • consolidates previous learning and experience
  • provides candidates with a forum for debate and improving their knowledge on current leadership,  policy and management issues in health and aged care
  • demonstrates a high level of commitment as a professional health and aged care leader and manager
  • demonstrates your commitment to excellence, professional development and to the ongoing evolution of the profession

Fellowship process

The pathway to fellowship is a three-stage process.

The exam

The 2018 Fellowship exams will be held on Sunday 16 and Monday 17 September 2018 in Darwin.


Please direct any enquiries to the Chief Examiner or the Executive Assistant of the Fellowship program by calling 02 8753 5111 or by emailing Alison McCann.

Application fee

The fee for entry into the 2018 Fellowship program will be:

EITHER Fellowship Examination Program only: $795

If you cancel or withdraw the refund policy is as follows:

  1. Prior to the program launch $745 refund.
  2. After first month of program launch $670 refund.
  3. After second month of program launch $545.
  4. Within 60 days of examination date - no refund.

OR Full registration 2018 Congress + Fellowship Examination Program + Fellows Dinner $1,875

Note that Congress Registration includes full Congress program and all social events such as Welcome Reception and Congress Dinner as well as the Fellows-only Dinner.

If you cancel or withdraw the refund policy is as follows:

  1. Prior to program launch $1,825.
  2. After first month of program launch $1,750 refunded.
  3. After second month of program launch $1,625 refunded.
  4. Within 60 days of examination date $1,080 refunded.

Images of 2017 Fellowship Graduates from Australia, Hong Kong and New Zealand being conferred at the College’s 2017 AGM in Sydney, NSW, Australia

ACT: L-R Sarah McGill, Glenys Wilkinson, Jo-Anne Benson and Stuart Margison

NSW: L-R Eva Ballai, Chris Horn, James Walters, Christine Dennis (Study Coordinator) Emma Malica, Peter Cook and Hayden Tseng

Qld: Anneke Fitzgerald (Study Coordinator) and Areti Gavrilidis

Vic/Tas: L-R Anthony Carpenter, Susan Crave (Tas) Fiona Sherwin, Julia Ogdin and Carol-Anne Lever

WA: Karina Moore, Sean Conlan, Diane Barr, Leanne Milligan, David Ligovich, Colin Young, Janice Bell, Neale Fong (President), David Joske, Jan Honter, Thomas Tuchyna, David Orrett, Simon Kemp, and Daniel Mahony.

International: Dr Ashishkumar Jaiswal 

New Zealand: Jane George, John McManus, Lesley Middleton and Paula Murray

New Fellows from Hong Kong College of Health Service Executives (HKCHSE)